We celebrated our 275th anniversary on October 22, 2010! Established in 1735, the present church building was erected in 1760 after the congregation outgrew its earlier meeting house on Sheffield Plain. Old Parish was the original town meetinghouse and the site of adoption of the famed Sheffield Declaration of 1733. Originally built in the center of the broad main street, the structure was moved back from the highway in 1819, at which time the steeple and bell were added. The colonial atmosphere of the building has been carefully maintained by the church members. The historical preservation has been balanced with the needs of the times, as Old Parish Church has become handicapped accessible. The Sheffield Antiques Show, sponsored by Old Parish Church, is into its fifth decade as the longest continuously running antique show in the area. The church continues as a center of town activity. Our doors open wide to host the annual town Christmas Tree Lighting and Carol Sing. Other groups that have used the building include The Sheffield Art League, the Red Cross Bloodmobile, 4-H clubs, Boy Scouts, Girl Scouts, the Food Program, Alcoholics Anonymous, the Youth Hockey League, and the Children’s Health Program Play Group. It is also the venue of performing arts presentations. Music is especially wonderful in this acoustically vibrant space.